Disney Princesses and Underrepresented Hair Colors

I am taking my youth group girls to see the new Beauty in the Beast movie in a few weeks and I feel like this calls for a serious conversation about hair. 

Now in general, I feel redheads are vastly underrepresented in pop culture. However, my sister was ranting the other day about the lack of brunette princesses, and I think she makes a very legit point. Take a look at this:

5 of these princesses have black hair. Three have blond hair. Two have red hair. Only one is a brunette!  

Add in Anna and Elsa…

Image result for all the disney princesses

We have 5 black haired princesses, three blonds, three redheads, one brunette and one sort of blond sort of white haired ice Queen. 

Image result for all the disney princesses

Now, there are a few less popular/not recognized Disney leading ladies who are brunettes, like Jane. (Actually, just Jane. I just looked it up and Megara is supposed to have auburn like hair.) And anyway, at the same time, you add another red head, another blond, and another black haired princess.

No matter how far you expand…

And who you include…

Brunettes really only have one good princess…

Image result for all disney princesses with moana(is that supposed to be Moana on the end?)

And that is Belle!


One response to “Disney Princesses and Underrepresented Hair Colors

Leave a comment