Live Blog – Oxford Update 1

Firstly, I am alive! Secondly, due to extreme jet lag and an inability to sleep, I have taken it upon myself to transcribe my notes from the flight at 12 am. Quite an interesting beginning, I must say. I live blogged my first international flight…here you have it.

6:32 (Central Time. Pre-Boarding)

Dan says I should live blog my first international 8-hour flight. So here it goes.

There are two very nice elderly couples sitting to my right. The man in plaid can’t figure out how four people take up six seats. His wife is telling him to hush.

To my left is a woman with a little girl. Her carryon is a very, very hot pink princess bag. Quite stylish.

Across from me is another young woman. She looks bored.

Oooh! We board in 5 minutes. Full flight.

The noisy group behind me has been playing a form of charades with their phones. So far the words have been rhino, The Batman, and March of the Penguins.

In between announcements about non-smoking and unattended baggage, the lady on the news can be heard talking about Miley Cyrus. I’d prefer to hear about Syria.

The elderly couples have boarded and have been replaced with a fellow ginger.

I wish I could remember which pocket I put my ear buds in.

The news has moved on to a video of moose.

7:05 (Central Time. On board, pre-takeoff)

8 seats across! This is my first flight with classes. I am in seat 40C. The little TV in front of me is showing fish. Previously it was clouds. Adorable little British boy (maybe 6?) to my right. He has a book of Star Wars stickers he is fast making his way through.

Just got hit in the head with a suitcase. Bit cramped in here.

There are lots of buttons around me. And I think a remote. Do we get ear buds? Will they explain how all this works? Will I get to keep the cheap pillow and blanket they provided us with?

The nice lady who helped me shut the bin above my seat is wearing heels. Classy, but not particularly comfortable looking. I suppose that is why she is sitting and not walking for the next 8 hours.

Why is the mini TV now playing sea turtles eating coral? Who watches this stuff?

Guy in front of me is playing Sudoku. That man is a genius for bringing it along. Must remember for future flights.

Buckle seat belt light turned on!

The elevator music they have playing sounds like a piano version of What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger. Except not really. Someone is talking! We’re leaving soon!

7:25 (Central. Still no takeoff)

Airplanes leave one with so many unanswered questions. Like, do male flight attendants have to wear the little neck scarves too? Is “Fasten Seat Belts While Seated” an utterly profound or slightly redundant thing to put on the trays? Why is the woman 3 rows over allowing her son to chant “poopy”?

Really, this is the place to be for the scientific mind.

TAKE-OFF!

Distance to London – 6348 km
–  3944 miles

1:32 am….London time

20C/68F

7:45 (Central…moving towards takeoff)

So guess what! There are games on this thing! And music! And movies! And I still have no idea how this whole volume thing works. How do I not disturb those around me?

Woosh! I love takeoff and getting up to altitude. Goodbye Chicago!

In the clouds now. They are lovely. And very white and fluffy. Hope the guy to my left doesn’t think I am staring at him. I just want to look out his window.

One question answered – male flight attendants do not wear the little neck scarves. They have ties.

Above the clouds now. Pink sunset and a carpet of fluffy white.

THEY HAND OUT FREE EAR BUDS. THIS ROCKS.

Games include Sudoku. Win.

8:10 (Central…in air)

THEY HAVE THE DISNEY CHANNEL

9:15 (Central….flying)

Fancy cheese with supper!
Fancy cheese isn’t that good.

10 pm (Central…flying)

Watching The Great Gatsby…otherwise known as Spiderman Gets Drunk. Boring so far, but intriguing.

Might be time for some shuteye…if this movie doesn’t put me to sleep first.

11:35 (Central…in the air)

Planes are not conducive to sleeping. I seriously might trip the next person who walks by. As heavy a sleeper as I am I can’t fall asleep when I hear thud-thud and people brushing up against me. And how many times will the extremely large man behind me get up? Lack of sleep is making me excessively testy.

7:44/1:44 (London/Central, flying over England)

Rough night but breakfast was lovely. A warm croissant with butter, orange juice, and blueberry yogurt followed by coffee. Mmm. Happy Amy

Debating the merits of landing in London watching more Disney channel. Betas listening to the Jonas Brothers, currently playing in the background…who knew they were making a comeback?

2:00 am/8:00 (Central/London…Over England)

Note: Laughing out loud to Good Luck Charlie makes everyone turn and stare. And yes, I did settle on Disney and yes, I am going to Oxford.

Still beats Jonas Brothers.

2:30/8:30 (Central/London)

Flying over Oxford! Almost 30 minutes out. Ear pressure killing me. Even gum not helping.

Watching Big Bang Theory now….mwahahaha

8:45 (2 minutes till arrival)

First glimpse of England is beautiful. Lots of trees.

10:20 (England – at Costa Café)

Met up with Justin, no one else here. I have begun compiling a list of Things I Cannot Do…

I can get into Oxford but I can’t…

1. Figure out where to purchase a voltage convertor

2. Work the toilets here (actually, I did figure that out…eventually)

3. Get Justin to talk (not tryng to hard…my internal clock is convinced it is 4:20 am and not time for conversations)

4. Get my cell to work. Sorry, Mum.

2 responses to “Live Blog – Oxford Update 1

Leave a Reply

