A Very Brief Update

Imagine telling your average 12-year-old that her only school assignment for the coming week is to research and write a brief paper on Justin Bieber. Furthermore, add that in the coming weeks the process will be repeated with One Direction, Selena Gomez, and any celebrity of her choice and that she will get to study them all in Hollywood. You have just caught a glimpse of how excited I am about my tutorials.  I am getting school credit to uber research a topic that fascinates me and write an essay analyzing it. How incredibly awesome is that?

This isn’t much of an update as much as me expressing my extreme enthusiasm for what I get to study. Today was our induction into New College (established in 1379…), yesterday was our induction into the Bodlian Library. I get to read The Prince and write a paper about Machiavelli for my primary tutor this week and one about Edmund Burke for my secondary. I am about to spend the next 8 weeks writing 12 essays dealing with various thoughts in political theory from Hobbes to Marx, from the Renaissance to modern politics. One very happy girl over here in England!

On a broader note, Oxford is coming alive. Lots of students moving in this week, initial meetings with tutors taking place. My primary tutor is Dr. Mark Almond and my secondary tutor is Dr. Tudor Jones. I look forward to studying under them this coming ‘semester’!

One response to “A Very Brief Update

  • Shawn McGee

    “How do you tell a Communist? Well, it’s someone who reads Marx and Lenin. And how do you tell an anti-Communist? It’s someone who understands Marx and Lenin.”
    Ronald Reagan – Remarks in Arlington, Virginia, September 25, 1987

    I have little doubt that you understand both very well!

Leave a Reply

