The Map (or lack thereof) in My Mind

The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian. I was so glad they kept this line from the book. It's one of my favorites ever.:

A few weeks ago I left from Delafield to drop my cousin off  in New Berlin. I got on the highway and drove for quite a while without really processing my surroundings. In the back of my mind, I realized there was a lot more construction than when I picked her up in the morning. However, I sort of pushed the idea away and it took a while for the suggestion to become a full-fledged thought. By that point, I had driven past the last exit for Oconomowoc and was stuck on I-94 East almost till Johnson Creek. I was headed in the exact opposite direction. Altogether, my detour took about 40 minutes just to get back to the starting point of Delafield. 

I wish I could say this was an unusual day, but if I am being honest, the unusual day is when I figure out where I am before I miss the last exit. 

Or at least, that was me for most of my driving experience. Lately, I’ve noticed I am getting much better at recognizing where I am and how to get to the location I want to be. It only took over a year of canvassing almost every street in the greater Waukesha area for me to gain a sense of direction! For Waukesha, that is. Don’t ask me to leave!

Street names still elude me. I can follow my nose but I’m always amazed to look up and realize I’ve been on Capital or Sunset. When I try to visualize in my mind how everything fits together, my head hurts. It is like something barely out of reach. I try to grasp it…and give up. My brain does not work in maps!

Thank goodness for the GPS! If you are shaking your head and wondering if your kid should ever ride in the car with me again, I can tell you that if I had been paying attention, I would have realized I was driving past Oconomowoc. I recognized the area. I’m not that bad with direction! Of course, the paying attention thing kind of concerns me. I feel my only excuse is Lucy’s line. There were other things on my mind!

Leave a Reply

