Whatcha Watching…? 4/23/16

I was going to do another ‘Whatcha Reading’ update but I haven’t been reading much lately. 

Actually, I should probably explain that statement. I am reading. Just not at my usual level. When I feel so inclined, I pick up Think Like a Freak by  Stephen J. Dubner and Steven Levitt or Pictures of Hollis Woods by Patricia Reilly Giff. I’m also still listening to Don Quixote in the car. I finally reached the halfway point; the book is taking forever

For me, this is not reading. My focused has shifted (it does quite often) and I’ve been watching a Korean drama lately. It is called One More Happy Ending and I really like it so far. The plot follows 4 former girl band members years after their band disbanded. One of them is married, another divorced, another engaged, and finally (you guessed it) one is single.

The plot primarily follows the divorcée and is typical k drama trope. Cute, but nothing mind-blowing. However, the side plots following the other characters provide surprising depth. Though recently (I’m on episode 8) it has gotten a bit fantastical, their struggles seem realistic and genuine. It is interesting to see an actress like Yoo In-Na branch out into a different type of role as the “ugly” duckling. 

I don’t think I would recommend this as a first drama, but it is so far a nice, mature one, especially as a break from the high school dramas. Entertaining and with actual character depth…I look forward to seeing where this drama goes! 

One More Happy Ending: Jang Nara, Yoo Da In, Yoo In Na, Seo In Young. #kdrama:

Leave a Reply

