Still…No Coffee

Remember, like, two months ago when I decided to quit drinking coffee? Remarkably, I’ve kept it up. I’ve been caffeinated coffee free since! 

I didn’t think I could do it. (It helps to know a nebulous amount of people, mainly related to me, read this blog and can hold me accountable. Theoretically.) I still miss the sociability of drinking coffee, but for the most part, it hasn’t effected me as much as I expected. This morning I was super tired and may or may not have fallen asleep about 3 different times. I finally decided this was as good a day as ever to break my no-coffee vow. However, by the time I actually got ready for the day, I was awake enough to drive into the office and make myself a cup of tea. 

Black tea has been my lifesaver. I may have given up coffee, but I can’t bring myself to quit caffeine. I usually drink Tazo’s English Breakfast from a k cup. It isn’t very good. In fact, it is some lousy tasting stuff and took a while to get used to. I definitely prefer loose leaf tea, but k cups are easier, especially at work. For a while I tried the V-8 V-Fusion energy drinks. Those are good! However, I usually drink one and then immediately make myself a cup of caffeinated tea. It kind of defeats the purpose of the V-Fusion. 

It really makes me wonder how much I need caffeine. I get enough sleep at night. Sure, caffeine provides a little extra spark of awareness in the morning, but is that alertness something I could develop if I didn’t rely on something to give it to me? I’m not sure I am courageous enough to find out. Maybe someday. (And knowing me…that day could be tomorrow. ‘Cause you never know. All or nothing woooooot!) 

Leave a Reply

