F. Scott Fitzgerald makes me melancholy

On my way to and from work I have been listening to The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald. It is fascinating. I feel like I ought to hate the characters but somehow they are sympathetic and lovely. I am not very far in, so I might change my mind as the two characters continue their selfish spiral into self-destruction. However, I am enjoying the story much more than I expected. 

I have also been listening to The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte. This one also has been surprisingly good. I just finished Agnes Grey and found it pleasant but a tad insipid. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, so far, has been something else entirely. I don’t know much about Anne Bronte but this is the sort of book that makes me want to do a lot of research on her. 

Leave a Reply

