My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, & Jodi Meadows

I wrote this review a few weeks ago, but I guess I never shared it on here! It isn’t much but here are my thoughts on My Lady Jane, an exceptionally funny new YA novel. 

Think you know the story of Lady Jane Grey, England’s infamous 9 day queen?
Think again!
My Lady Jane takes the tragedy and political machinations of the religious wars in England during the reign of Edward/Jane/Mary/Elizabeth Tudor and goes….

‘Yeah, but what if…

What if the dying King Edward was more worried about having his first kiss than in ruling his country?
What if Jane was a nerdy bookworm?
What if Jane’s husband was….a horse?

Written in the tongue-in-cheek style of Monty Python and The Princess Bride, My Lady Jane is a hilarious re-write of history. And I like this version better. It is lighthearted and humorous. However, pretty YA. Get prepared for insta-love, kissing scenes, and silly emotional drama that (to its credit) only contains a little angst. I think it helps that there are three character POVs.
While I didn’t mind the rewrite of history, I may or may not have gotten annoyed at a few, silly details. Like….ELIZABETH I HAD RED HAIR TOO, WHY IS EVERYONE JUST PICKING ON JANE?
*cough*

Fun, light hearted, YA. Not bad 🙂 Thank you, Ginnie, for getting this for me!

Leave a Reply

