The Beautiful and the Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I finally finished The Beautiful and Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald. It was both emotionally draining and utterly fascinating. I think it helped that I was listening to it on the way to and from work so I got it in small bites. It helped break down the intensity. I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this book, but I did. I thought I would hate and despise Anthony and Gloria, yet I didn’t. In fact, I liked them initially. As their world began to crumble, I pitied them. I didn’t despise them, though.

I didn’t entirely care for Gloria. As a character she was great, but she didn’t seem real. She didn’t think/act like a female. 

Overall, surprisingly good. I am going to have to give This Side of Paradise a try…but maybe not for a while. 

Leave a Reply

