The Mindy Project

Over the last few weeks I read Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? and Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling. I found both books hilarious and impossible to put down. (They are, however, occasionally crude…so I don’t necessarily recommend reading them.) Because I enjoyed her writing so much, I decided to give her TV show, The Mindy Project, a try. So far, I have watched the first 8 episodes of Season 1.

To be honest, I almost didn’t make it past the first two episodes. They were so dumb. This entire show is like one long, HR nightmare. In fact, if I worked in human resources, I’d be tempted to make everyone in the company watch the show to learn what NOT to do. Those doctors are just begging for a lawsuit. 

However, each episode is only like 20 minutes and it is so easy to just click on the next one…

I’ve actually started  to…to sorta enjoy?…the show. I’m ambivalent to Mindy’s character and tend to dislike the other doctors in her office. I do – cautiously – like the characters of Morgan, the office nurse, and Mindy’s current boyfriend, Josh.  However, when I actually start thinking about the plots of the episodes, I couldn’t tell you what I’m enjoying. It is mindless fluff. I’ve got Season 1 so I will probably finish it, but I can’t imagine myself actively seeking any of the other seasons. 

Leave a Reply

