I tried to take a Saturday off…

“Today was supposed to be my day off….” I tell my volunteer as an explanation for why I am leaving early. “I have worked the past 4 Saturday’s.”

“WHAT!” says my 12 year old volunteer. “THAT SHOULD BE ILLEGAL.”

“What?” I ask. “Me taking a day off, or working 4 Saturdays?” 

“You taking a day off!” he exclaims. “If you weren’t working then I couldn’t volunteer! You can’t take off every 5th Saturday. I wouldn’t have anything to do.”

My job may have long and sometimes weird hours, but it really is worth it for activists like that. I am surrounded by passionate people…of all ages! 

That said, I am thoroughly enjoying my half day and tomorrow is totally off and all about my sister!  

Leave a Reply

