Whatcha Reading…? 8/9/16 Book Update

It has been a LONG time since I posted one of these! With work picking up, my reading has been pretty sporadic. However, I’ve finally found myself reading enough books at once to make this post feasible. I’m currently reading 6 books, 3 in print and 3 by audio. The print ones are: The Mind of the Maker by Dorothy L. Sayers, Grace for the Good Girl by Emily P. Freeman, and Cleopatra’s Daughter by Michelle Moran. The audio books are Bonhoeffer by Eric Metaxas, Seven Men: and the Secret of Their Greatness also by Eric Metaxas, and The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway. 

I have really been enjoying The Mind of the Maker. Coming off Orthodoxy by G. K. Chesterton, it seems almost easy to follow! I love Dorothy L. Sayers as a writer of detective fiction and it is quite fun to discover this other side of her work. In The Mind of the Maker she examines God in His role as Creator. She makes some really interesting points and has a beautiful style that makes this theological work fresh and readable. 

Grace for the Good Girl is a look at how “good” Christian girls often use masks to hide their struggle. It is particularly applicable for those of us who have grown up in the church. I first heard about it from my sister Anna, but one of my good friends recently lent me her copy so I could read the whole thing. This book is very solid…but, like The Mind of the Maker, seems somehow less because it is following Orthodoxy in my reading. (Have I mentioned that I loved Orthodoxy?!) 

Cleopatra’s Daughter is…interesting. It is good historical fiction but I think I need to sit down and read it straight through. It is a welcome ‘light’ read but at the same time can’t compete with the other books I’m reading right now. 

I’ve really been enjoying Bonhoeffer. Eric Metaxas does a great job introducing this fascinating and influential man. The book has a bit of everything: history, politics, theology. However, I’m not loving Seven Men. Elijah and I are listening to it right now and we find it extraordinarily repetitive and slow. Hopefully it will pick up. 

As for The Sun Also Rises…having finished The Beautiful and Damned, I figured I might as well tackle another dreary yet beautiful classic. Unfortunately, I am not connecting to this one at all. It is super slow and random. I care so little for the characters I’m not sure ‘ambivalent’ even begins to hit it. 

Leave a Reply

