Lord of the Flies by William Golding

Today I finished Lord of the Flies by William Golding. It is one of those classics that you read in high school or hope to never run into again. However, because I didn’t read it in high school,  I decided I needed to give a try.

I didn’t enjoy it as much as I expected to. I enjoyed The Metamorphosis and Frankenstein and any other number of classics I’ve read this year, but Lord of the Flies was a hard one to get into. There were moments of great poignancy and depth, especially near the end. However, you have to battle tedious chapters and disjointed plot elements to get there. I think I should have read the book in print, via audio it was too easy to get the boys confused. 

The book was worth the time and I think I would re-read it. I give it 3 out of 5 stars. Not a new favorite, but not as dreadful as all the comments on YouTube led me to believe. 

 

Leave a Reply

