Whatcha Reading…? 9/12/2016 Book Update

I Like Big Books And I Cannot Lie by DoodlingForDays on Etsy:

I finished Winter last night! That book was a whopping 832 pages. I’ve been inspired to tackle a few other large books floating around my to-read basket…

Currently, I’m reading An Autobiography by Agatha Christie, Ida: A Sword Among Lions by Paul J. Giddings, and The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson. I’m also listening to The Professor and the Madman: A Tale of Murder, Insanity, and the Making of the Oxford English Dictionary by Simon Winchester on audio book. 

I own An Autobiography and have pulled it out to read countless times. The problem is, it isn’t on my to-read list so it always gets shoved aside for something more ‘pressing.’ However, I’ve finally decided to sit down and read it. So far, it is utterly charming. Think of the whit and sense that makes Agatha Christie’s mysteries so wonderful and now have her talk about her childhood. Absolutely lovely. Also 529 pages. 

I planned to return Ida: A Sword Among Lions to the library because I’ve had it out forever and I finished a much thinner biography about Ida B. Wells only last week. However, I started perusing the Introduction and quickly became intrigued with the author, Paula J. Giddings. I normally don’t like it when authors talk about themselves in biographies about someone else. After all, I’m not reading the book for them. For some reason, this Introduction struck me a little differently. I’m curious to find out more. This book is 800 pages.

The Beauty of Darkness is the third and final book in The Remnant Chronicles. I hope there is some good closure to the series. It is 684 pages and somehow seems the most daunting of the three. 

The Professor and the Madman has been a little disappointing so far. I can’t complain with the reader, who is the author and has a British accent, but there doesn’t seem to be much of story to tell here. Once upon a time an American lived in an insane asylum and helped write definitions for a British dictionary. There ought to be a good story there but the repetitive nature of the first hour and a half of this audio books makes me doubtful. 

I was listening Babbitt by Sinclair Lewis on audio book last week but I might find a physical copy instead. There are some intriguing lines but it is hard to focus without seeing them in print. 

One response to “Whatcha Reading…? 9/12/2016 Book Update

Leave a Reply

