Orange Juice

Yesterday, I woke up with a cold. It was a baby cold but a cold none the less and one that threatened to turn into something worse. I coughed. I sneezed. I snot… Well, you know how colds go. However, yesterday was definitely not a day to take off! I had a full day ahead of me. I picked up one of my volunteers on the way to the office and she suggested, 

“If you have a cold, why not get some orange juice?” 

Generally, we do not drink orange juice when we have colds at my house. However, I had a roommate in college who always drank a lot of it when she had a cold. Something about Vitamin C, I recollected numbly. I suspected there was a reason this was a bad idea but I couldn’t think of it so I bought a lot of orange juice to get me through the day. And I mean, it was a lot. I must have drunk almost two liters of orange juice. I still suspected there was a reason this was a bad idea, so to make up for it I also took a bunch of vitamins and that orange powder that blasts you with Vitamin C when you feel like you are getting sick. I guess it worked? By 1:30, I was feeling fine. 

I told all this to my parents this morning and they just looked at me like I was crazy and said, “Wow, that must have been a lot of sugar!” 

So basically, AHA! That is why I only needed one cup of coffee yesterday! 

Leave a Reply

