The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry

I really should stop reviewing these 5 star books on here, because I am going to write about them at the end of the year. However, once again I have finished a fun one and I can’t resist reviewing it! 

Plot: When their headmistress and her odious brother are suddenly poisoned, the students of St. Etheldreda’s School for Girls have a decision to make. Do they alert the police and return to their respective homes, or carry on as if nothing happened? They opt to bury the bodies. Unfortunately, hiding murder is not easy, especially when the murderer is still at large! But who on earth wanted Mrs. Plackett and her brother dead?

Thoughts: With it mix of farcical humor, outlandish situations, and hint of romance, The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place has much to recommend it. However, what makes this book so charming is its characters.There are 7 female students at St. Etheldreda’s School for Girls and each one plays an important role in the story. Especially because I was listening to this on audio book, I was ready to be utterly confused and unable to tell them apart. That didn’t happen! The 7 characters were very unique and memorable and the author makes them more so by adding an adjective to their name (i.e. Smooth Kitty, Disgraceful Mary Jane, Dour Eleanor, etc.) I loved reading their adventures and I really wish this was a series so there would be more. 

I definitely recommend this one. If you prefer something a little more YA fantasy, I also really enjoy The Amaranth Enchantment by Julie Berry. I only gave it 3 (out of 5) stars on Goodreads, and it has its flaws, but it is one I return to every few years and re-read because it contains something memorable I can’t quite put my finger on. Plus, I love the hero.  

Leave a Reply

