the future looks bright

In many ways, developing a community field office has given me numerous experiences that usually would come with a first apartment. I’ve decorated on a budget, paid the electric bill each month, dealt with locksmiths, plumbers, and electricians, and assembled bookshelves. I’ve spent hours (and hours) at Menards and Goodwill and Ace Hardware.

Today, however, I did something new: I changed the light bulbs. That doesn’t sound very impressive, but I’m not talking desk lamp bulbs. After avoiding it for several months, I decided it was time to figure out why the showroom, spotlights didn’t work. They’ve never worked, but as we also have florescent lights in the room, I never bothered to figure out why. 

The issue was either with the light bulbs (thus fixable by me immediately) or an electrical one (which would involve calling the landlord, waiting two months, calling again, and maybe getting them fixed by March.) I swiped my Dad’s ladder, unscrewed the bulb, found a replacement bulb at Ace Hardware (did you know they don’t make 100 watt bulbs?), replaced the bulb, and hit the switch. It turned on! Only 5 more bulbs to go.

I went back to Ace where they only had 3 of the bulbs in stock and then tried Wal Mart which has completely different brands but wallah, I now have 6 working spotlights. This may not sound like much, but I feel like I conquered the world today. 

One response to “the future looks bright

Leave a Reply

