YA Gone Wrong: My 1 Star Reads from 2016

While I had a record breaking amount of 5 star reads in 2016, I also rated fewer books 1 star than I ever have before. I like to think this is due to the fact that I was reading really good books and quitting early on stories that annoyed me. In reality, it it is probably because I finally gave up on finding a decent chick flick.

Whatever the cause, here are the 5 books I most regret reading in 2016:

The Crime at Black Dudley by Margery Allingham

This book is supposed to be the debut of Margery Allingham’s detective, Albert Campion. Unfortunately, someone forgot to tell the plot that. The book actually focuses on a boring, insufferable, “cherubic faced” doctor named Abbershaw. I hated him from the beginning. Campion is around but plays a very limited role. The whole book is slow, confusing, and way too long. A British whodunit gone horribly, boringly wrong. Stick to Agatha Christie.

The Communist Manifesto by Karl Marx

I don’t know if this is a book I would necessarily say I regret reading; I was going to read it at some point. However, I was rather disappointed by this one. I have read so much about Marx and Engels that I expected a lot more from their famous volume. It started off strikingly but the writing and logic quickly went downhill. I disagreed with just about every sentence. Literally, the antithesis of what I do every day.

Angels & Demons by Dan Brown

I have thrown books across the room, but this was the first time I actually threw a book in the garbage after finishing it. While I acknowledge Angels & Demons had a decent twist, anything redeemable was quickly lost in bad writing, atrocious characters, and random plot. The main character is a professor who (the reader is frequently reminded) is hawt and emotionally traumatized.He meets a hawt, intelligent woman who runs around with little clothing on, admires his brilliance, and occasionally provides exposition. (So much for female empowerment.) There is an Evil Bad Guy who is so entirely villainous that it is morally proper to cheer for his downfall. Cue nearly 600 pages of this. I hate this book.

The Twin’s Daughter by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

This was supposed to be “an engrossing Gothic novel of betrayal, jealousy, and treacherous secrets that will keep you guessing” but unfortunately it turned out to be a dark, disturbing and, honestly, stupid novel that I can’t wait to forget about. I enjoy a dark YA story done right (see Plain Kate) but this book was absolutely disgusting. It was badly paced and had bi-polar characters and too much sexual innuendo. Lots of potential but none of it is realized.

Red by Alison Cherry

Welcome to Scarletville, a sanctuary for redheads. Felicity St. John is a high school girl with the perfect life thanks to her coppery curls. However, Felicity has a secret and someone is blackmailing her about: she dyes her hair! Gasp! With a synopsis like that, I was hardly expecting my new favorite novel, but I had no idea how bad this book would be. Well, perhaps I did know but I was really hoping to be proven wrong. The book was super shallow and dumb. It has the usual teenybopper romance and cliche characters. There is supposed to be some overarching lesson about discrimination but it gets buried in bad writing and contrived plot elements. Such a waste of time.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

This book was the 4th and final installment of the Raven Cycle, a series I previously enjoyed. Unfortunately, The Raven King falls dramatically short of its predecessors. The plot was incoherent and full of deus ex machina moments. There was a lot of vulgarity and language. I had to force myself to keep reading because every time I put it down I didn’t want to pick it up again. Most of all, though, I was frustrated by the lack of real sacrifice in the story. There was no emotional punch. This book wasn’t so much a conclusion to the series as a ramble involving extremely changed characters. I was greatly disappointed.

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

This was the most disappointing book of 2016. I was super excited to read Girl Online (a book with a blogging heroine, yay!) and searched for over a year to find a copy. (See full review here.) However, this proved to be yet another book ruined by bad cliches, juvenile writing, and YA boys. I have a soft spot for sappy story lines but this was just ridiculous. It was impossible to take anything seriously. The “15 year old” heroine writes like a 12 year old and basically has the same level of emotional maturity. Definitely not worth bothering with.

Leave a Reply

