Better Safe Than Sorry

I really thought I had parked beneath a streetlight. I almost always do when I’m out and about late, and tonight I knew was going to be very late. Maybe the bulb was burned out or maybe I just wasn’t paying enough attention when I pulled in, but whatever the case, the first thing I noticed as I walked towards my car tonight was that it was in the dark. The second thing was that a sketchy white van with no windows was parked right next to it. It didn’t take a genius to figure out this was a bad combination. 

I turned around and started running in my heels, hoping to catch my boss before she finished locking up and drove away. We had stayed late talking with an activist and if she were gone, it would be me and an empty building. Thankfully, that activist hadn’t driven away yet either. He saw me running and pulled over. I explained the situation and he said he had been driving back to check on me anyway. He saw me safely to my vehicle and drove away. It probably was nothing, but better safe than sorry, and I am super grateful that he came back. Thank you, Mr. E!

There were definitely extra guardian angels keeping an eye on me tonight. Visibility was awful with the difficulties of rain/sleet/fog multiplied by construction and bad drivers. Half the time I couldn’t see where the lanes were. One particularly blinker-averse Toyota made a last-minute decision to exit with me and I narrowly avoided a collision. 

I’m so glad to be home, safe, and headed to bed! It has been a very long day. 

Leave a Reply

