Conversations with Co-Workers

“Amy was basically raised on a farm! Weren’t you?” my co-worker turns to me with a beaming smile. 

My own smile freezes as I try and think of how my very suburban life could ever be construed as being “raised on a farm.”

“Ahhh, not really. I live in a subdivision,” I finally say. 

She nods as though I have just confirmed her point. “Well, I was raised in the inner city of Milwaukee, so we basically come from opposite ends of a spectrum.” 

I suppose if you really don’t live anywhere near grass, a subdivision could seem like a farm. Maybe? 

One response to “Conversations with Co-Workers

  • Shirley Johnson

    Only and only maybe…..inner city usually means that they are not taught what should be common knowledge. Where does milk come from? Where do eggs come from? Cheese?–does that grow on a tree? On and on….I have heard that common everyday things these poor kids are not exposed to..not even pictures! Oh well…..interesting!

    On Mon, Feb 27, 2017 at 9:33 PM, Fernweh’s Call wrote:

    > holtfan posted: “”Amy was basically raised on a farm! Weren’t you?” my > co-worker turns to me with a beaming smile. My own smile freezes as I try > and think of how my very suburban life could ever be construed as being > “raised on a farm.” “Ahhh, not really. I live in a ” >

Leave a Reply

