The POV That Did Not Need To Be

Confession time: I just finished reading Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter. I wasn’t planning to finish it when I started, but I ended up really enjoying the writing. Sure, this novel was less of a twist on Alice in Wonderland and more Twilight meets zombies, but I enjoyed it. I was rating the book on Goodreads when I saw book “1.5” in the series, a 5 page ebook available on the author’s blog called Cole…Meet Ali. It retells the story of Ali (the “Alice” of the story) meeting Cole (the love interest) from Cole’s perspective. 

To be honest, this was one of the worst things I’ve read in a really, really long time. It was like super bad fan-fiction, but worse because it came straight from the author. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry while reading it. Cole was annoying enough when it was just Ali’s POV, but his POV is laughably dramatic and angsty. However, it was the “discussion” about home schooling (and the author’s continual use of the word “homeschool”) that finally did it for me. I just have to share this dialogue.

“Say the word and I will get us signed up for homeschool.” Bronx moves in beside me.  “I want out of this hellhole sooner rather than later.”

“Dude.  Shut your stupid mouth hole.”  Frosty punches Bronx in the shoulder. 

“Mouth hole?” I ask.

“There are no chicks in homeschool,” Frosty explains.

“I’m with Bronx,” I say.  Homeschool wouldn’t be so bad.  This is my last first day of high school, and I’m already over it. 

 

Me:

 

 Full the short story in its full glory – http://members.genashowalter.com/profiles/blogs/cole-meet-ali 

 

Leave a Reply

