Korean Food and Bubble Tea

“What is this?” my sister Bethany asks the passing waiter. She gestures to the weird, wobbly, white and pink thing on her fork. 

For a moment, he looks similarly baffled. “I don’t know…I usually get the ramen when I eat here. My Mom makes Asian food at home.” Apparently this is his reason for not eating more diversely at the Korean restaurant where he works. Seeing our incredulous expressions, he hazards, “Maybe it is crab?” 

Another waitress walks by. He calls her over. “What is that?”

“Rice cake,” she says calmly. 

In surprise, we all stare at it for a moment. Rice cake. Right.

For the record, this is what the rest of Bethany’s lunch looked like:

My Mom, my two sisters, and I went out for Korean today!

 (My lunch…yummm)

Following lunch, we went shopping and bought bubble tea.

I do not think I have quite sold my family on the merits of bubble tea yet, but eventually I will. It is so refreshing (and fun!) 

One response to “Korean Food and Bubble Tea

  • Shirley Johnson

    wish I could have come along….the only way I’ll ever get Korean food is with you, Amy…guess you forgot about me Oh well, next time maybe…I love it……..Grandma…..Where did you go for the Korean Food?

    On Wed, Mar 15, 2017 at 5:54 PM, Fernweh’s Call wrote:

    > holtfan posted: “”What is this?” my sister Bethany asks the passing > waiter. She gestures to the weird, wobbly, white and pink thing on her > fork. For a moment, he looks similarly baffled. “I don’t know…I usually > get the ramen when I eat here. My Mom makes Asian food at” >

Leave a Reply

