Listening to Henry James’s The Portrait of a Lady

I’ve been listening to Henry James’s The Portrait of a Lady on audiobook and it is slowwww going. Granted, the book is long (over 20 hours) but it seems to be more than that. I dislike all the characters! There is no plot. And James is so dang wordy. I’m finishing disc 16 of 18 and the only thing keeping me going is the thought that I’m almost done.

To celebrate nearly being done, here are a few of my status updates from the past few weeks: (SPOILERS – maybe?) 

2% in – “I believe I have discovered another ENFP! Unfortunately, at the moment I do not like her.”

20% in –  “List of things I hate so far:
The ENFP main character
British lords
American girls
Men
The word “interlocutor””

24% in – “I think I can blame this book for my reading slump, and I’m not even reading it! I’m listening to it on audio. I guess the bright side is that while avoiding it I have heard a lot more pop music on the radio… Actually, I take it back. That is not the bright side. That is the dark side. I’m slowly dying inside. SOMEONE HELP ME.”

50% – “You mean…I’m only halfway through? *sob*”

60% – “Ahhh yes, abrupt confessions and angsty lovers are CLEARLY not enough. Better add an unhappy marriage.”

70% – “That awkward moment when your main suitor is dating you for your stepmom…”

72% – “Did James just say Pansy lives in a “virginal bower”? Why yes, yes he did.”

80% – “Am I done yet? No? Please?”

 

Leave a Reply

