Airbnb

I promised y’all a few more thoughts on my Airbnb experience so I’ll try and pull some together. My flight got in super late last night and I’m on benadryl for my allergies so I’m not sure how coherent this will be!

For those of you not familiar with Airbnb, this is what it says on their website:

Founded in August of 2008 and based in San Francisco, California, Airbnb is a trusted community marketplace for people to list, discover, and book unique accommodations around the world — online or from a mobile phone or tablet.

Whether an apartment for a night, a castle for a week, or a villa for a month, Airbnb connects people to unique travel experiences, at any price point, in more than 65,000 cities and 191 countries. And with world-class customer service and a growing community of users, Airbnb is the easiest way for people to monetize their extra space and showcase it to an audience of millions.

Basically, people rent spare rooms, houses, etc. I rented a room in Lexington, VA. I had a really positive experience. It was super easy to find the place and my host was communicative and helpful. He had lots of tips for places to see and provided a map of the area. It was a little strange staying in someone else’s house, but I think I would do it again. 

The only thing that marred my visit was that I wasn’t able to figure out how social I should be. I know that might sound weird and it is probably different for every situation, but I felt antisocial staying in my room basically from the moment I arrived to when I left in the morning. However, despite feeling antisocial, I felt even less like socializing! I’d traveled all day. So to talk? Or to avoid? That was the question. I ended up avoiding and then felt slightly guilty for doing that! 

Leave a Reply

