~ 2019 ~

As 2019 ends, I feel like I am recovering from a marathon. What a year it has been! Between international travel, TAing, and commuting 3 hours a day this summer, I packed in quite a bit. And I am tired. But at least it wasn’t as bad as Fall 2018! I never want to live through that kind of stress again.

The big adventure of 2019 was obviously Thailand. What a mixed bag that trip turned out to be! I am finally far enough away to feel grateful for all the lessons learned and people met during those tumultuous five months. I especially appreciate the continued friendship of the church family I met there. Yet I am close enough to still feel a stab of panic when thinking about my trip. I mostly blame Thammasat University and their total lack of structure. But small children cursing me out in the street sure didn’t help. Thankfully, I made it through because of some awesome people!

Then I came home and got a job in Madison while living at home and commuted 3 hours a day. The job I loved. I am incredibly grateful for all the opportunities to learn and the many facets of running a non-profit foundation I got to take ownership of. But the drive was not fun! And the gas mileage on my mini-van left much to be desired!

Finally, the start of my 3L semester where I juggled being a full-time student, working a part time job, TAing, and law review! The highlight was a trip to Virginia to watch one of my best friends get engaged. And I got to visit another friend in Minnesota!  

It was a year of ups and downs and right-arounds! Here’s to a (hopefully) more level 2020!

future looking

 


One response to “~ 2019 ~

Leave a comment